top of page

THE COUNTRY WITHOUT SIGNALS ... and more

I like travelling, not only in real life, but also in my dreams. This is my medicine against boredom and lack of change or development.

Every time I teach Second Conditional and I ask my students the question “What would you do if you had $10 000 000?” I want to shout out “Let me be the first one to answer this question!!! I would travel the world”. Not only to see new places, learn new cultures and get new experiences... Travelling can also challenge me to check how much I can handle, how flexible I am and how I can use my imagination, resources and time the best possible way. It also helps me to stay me.

For many years I have been asking myself which country is the country of my dreams and , if I could choose, where I would live: Canada, UAE, Iceland, France, New Zealand … Last week I discovered my place.

My dream land is called NIUE

It is a tiny island in the South Pacific Ocean, 2400km north east of New Zealand, it is so tiny that you need to zoom in the map if you want to see it. There are many things I like about this small island besides the crystal clear water, beautiful caves, gorgeous beaches and friendly-looking people .

First, I like the name. Some people pronounce it as New We, some call it New Way, others refer to it as New I. Whatever it is, moving there or just visiting means something new.

There are some amazing facts about Niue. Can you believe that there aren’t any ATMs on the island and no traffic lights either, but there is an international airport. The country has a population of 1500 people only, but there is free wifi for everyone, that’s why the country is known as the world’s first and only “Wifi Nation”.

People in Niue sing very well and they always do that when they go to church on Sunday. Sunday is a day dedicated to God, so fishing and boating are not allowed.

Being one of the smallest independent countries in the world, Niue has tried to be special. In the past, one of the main industries was exporting postage stamps to collectors around the world.

The country made international headlines when in 2011, on the occasion of the British Royal Wedding, a very interesting stamp was issued. (you can read the full story here).

Another amazing thing about Niue is that, although the official currency is the New Zealand dollar, almost every year they create some special $1 and $2 coins: in 2001 Pokemon collection, in 2014 Disney princess in 2011 Star Wars. These coins are collectors’ items and they can cost hundreds of dollars online.

If you go diving in Niue, not only can you swim with the wales, but the water is so clear that the visibility is up 75 meters.

So, if I had $10 000 000 I would definitely go to Niue if not to live there, at least to stay for a while.

What about you? Do you have a place where you dream to go?

It is not difficult to do it, just close your eyes and don't stop dreaming.

Enjoy a short video about the amazing Niue here

If you want to read something more, go to http://www.niueisland.com/

bottom of page